CanSPEP Past President’s Council

Bettyanne Sherrer
President, 2015-2016
During my tenure as President, I was extremely fortunate in the exemplary Board Members I had the privilege to work with. While many initiatives were launched and a lot was accomplished, I am most proud of the creation of CanSPEP’s first Educational Scholarship program. I am honoured to continue to serve the association through the Past Presidents Council which affords me the opportunity to act as an Ambassador for CanSPEP and mentor others to their leadership potential.
Caroline Aston
President, 2014-2015
Catherine Paull
President 2013-2014
Debbie Arato
President, 2012-2013
Rita Plaskett
President, 2011-2012
My greatest accomplishment: Creation of the Past Presidents’ Council I continue to volunteer and service on the PPC because CanSPEP is the life line for entrepreneur planners to stay inspired, engaged in our own business, current on business trends and services necessary to keep a healthy business growing and the support and network of like minded piers. It takes an army to build a village and it takes CanSPEP members to build our own business.
Rose Timmerman-Gitzi
President, 2009-2011
Heidi Wilker
President, 2006-2008
Most proud of the rebranding of the association from Independent Meeting Planners Association of Canada (IMPAC) to Canadian Society of Professional Event Planners (CanSPEP) I continue to volunteer and serve on the Past Presidents’ Council because I have a profound interest and belief in keeping the association grounded in both its past and its future.
Karen Eluck
President, 2004-2006
Gale Gingrich
President, 2003-2004
The commitment I made when I took on the President role was to foster mentorship between senior and junior members. This program followed my Presidency for a few years by linking senior and junior members at our annual Conferences. I still maintain that mentorship should be one of the cornerstones of our Association. By far my proudest moment was when I was awarded the Inaugural Award of Merit for Leadership and I have continued my commitment to CanSPEP by serving on committees and as an active member of the Past Presidents’ Council including since my retirement. Over my many years of involvement, I have made lifelong friends and will be forever grateful to CanSPEP for the friends, opportunities to serve, great collaborations with my fellow members and lots of fun. it has been a great ride!
Sandy Biback
President, 2002-2003
My goal as President was to always be working collaboratively and put the member first. At a variety of times working with CanSPEP (& as a founding member) I’ve done a lot. Two things that stand out: Continually updating the Accessibility Guide from when I first wrote it with another planner shortly after ADA came into effect in US & before CanSPEP was an association; and the ability for members to ask for services, suggestions on what their needs are. I continue to be on the Past President's Council because history is vital to any organization to see where we’ve been, where we are and where we want to go. Because CanSPEP created something that was never created successfully before in the industry and because it is crucial that we continue to marry the past with the present with the future
Ingrid Norrish
President, 1998-1999