And the Winner Is…


CanSPEP’s Awards of Merit were handed out at the 2016 Conference on March 5th at a Roaring 20’s evening held in the St. Clair Centre for the Arts in Windsor, ON.

The Joy Fox Award, named after the Founder of CanSPEP, recognizes an individual who brings leadership, dedication and commitment to the independent meeting planning community and is the organization’s most prestigious award of merit. This year’s recipient is Ingrid Norrish of Creative Meeting and Marketing Services. One of the founding members of CanSPEP, Ingrid has held many of the key leadership positions in the organization and has been instrumental in developing plans to celebrate CanSPEP’s 20thanniversary year. Her nomination highlighted that “Ingrid has been an excellent ambassador of CanSPEP, bringing many new members to the organization and her innovative ideas have contributed to significant improvement and advancement of CanSPEP education programs over the years.”

The Industry Partner Award was presented to both Denise Wiese of Business Events Toronto and Scott Harradine, retired, formerly of the Kempenfelt Conference Centre in Barrie. This award recognizes a CanSPEP industry partner who has demonstrated his or her commitment by supporting and promoting the reputation of CanSPEP within the wider industry community.

Both award winners were highly praised for their support of CanSPEP and their recruitment of independent planners to the Association.

Scott Harradine, now retired from the Kempenfelt Center, has been an exemplary supporter of CanSPEP from its inception. He was one of CanSPEP’s first suppliers who supported and got involved in the Association and has been a strong advocate over the years. From his nomination it was clear that although Scott is retired ” …his past ongoing support and involvement with our Association is still worthy to recognize and acknowledge, especially at the 20thAnniversary Conference.”

Denise Wiese, has been a tireless champion of CanSPEP, bringing Tourism Toronto on board as a supplier partner and referring potential CanSPEP members to the organization. ” Denise is a supporter of third party planners and recognizes the unique and diverse needs of individual planners. In working with Denise, she goes above and beyond in building individual partnerships with planners that are of a mutual business benefit,” stated her nomination submission.

A new award was given out this year, the Volunteer of the Year, which aims to recognize the significant impact that volunteers play in the running and success of the organization.

This year’s winners, Nikki Sayers CMP of Nikki Sayers Events and Moriah Bacus, formerly the Owner of Define Events and presently with Business Events Toronto, earned their volunteer stripes as the Co-chairs of CanSPEP’s inaugural Event Business Blueprint.

At the awards ceremony, Bettyanne Sherrer, CanSPEP President, stated that, “As Co-Chairs, they were responsible for the development and delivery of this innovative program… Their unique insight as newer business owners seeking to provide a roadmap to others was very well received and demonstrates one of the best examples of the unique, collegial CanSPEP culture.”

Congratulations to this year’s award winners!


Leave a Reply